My race

Still haven’t gotten my computer. I’m trying to build myself a new one, but I’m picking out the parts and I’m not sure about which to go with. Trying to find someone to help me out and I know for a fact that my little brother’s friend can help me out, but my brother refuses to give me his Skype ID or his phone number. Hopefully I’ll have it up in a couple of weeks, but we’ll see. I might just cop me a Mac and be happy with that. I actually think that might be the best choice, but like I said, we’ll see.

So I’m gonna tell you a bit about my race today. I’m actually born in Iraq. My parents are born in Iraq (as far as I know anyways). When I was six months old, my mother and me came to Sweden and my father followed soon after. There had been a war and the country wasn’t in a good position, Christians in Iraq had a tough time (we’re not Arabs, we’re Chaldean or Assyrian, basically Christian Iraqis, in our case, we’re Catholics) so my parents decided to flee the country. So, basically I don’t really have a country where I can say I’m from. Sure, I was born in Iraq, but I’m not really an Iraqi. Sure, I’ve lived in Sweden for 20 years now, but I’m far from Swedish. I barely speak Chaldean or Arabic, but I speak fluent Swedish and my English is good. If someone with foreign ancestry asks me where I’m from, I say I’m Chaldean. If a native Swede asks me where I’m from, I say I’m from Iraq. So I don’t know, it’s hard for me to really identify myselfs with anything. That might be the reason why I’m usually open-minded to people as long as they’re nice, that might be the reason I’m open to other cultures, open to understanding and learning about other cultures. I’d like to think that anyways. So, today you’ve learned a bit about me. If you have anything to say about yourselves, you’re more than welcome.

Peace & Love

This entry was posted in Me, Other and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

