Chasing Happiness, Sam’s Guide To Happiness – Part 1

So I’m a pretty happy person. At least I’d like to think I am, maybe it’s just some faux happiness that I project onto myself, but it works for me. I have my ups and downs but I mostly feel happy. I noticed that a lot of people aren’t happy, though, and that saddens me. People live their lives doing things that they hate, things that make them unhappy, and that bothers me because, well at least to me, life is about finding happiness. Sometimes, there are tough times when you have to just work hard to get to a point of happiness, but overall, I think life is about being happy, spreading peace and making love. So I’d like to introduce you to my guide to happiness. This is just me, okay! This doesn’t work for everybody, nor is it really recommended for everybody because everyone is different, everyone doesn’t like the same things, and you have to adjust it to yourself. But let me give it a shot.

Okay. So rule 1 to get to happiness:

Care less! Yes, you read that right. Don’t care so much. People care too much about extremely unnecessary things. Let me take my father for example. He’s probably the most unhappy man in the world, well at least that I know of. And that’s mostly because he minds everybody’s business and gets mad when people don’t do as he wants them to do. I’ve told him hundreds of times, just don’t care about my grades (oh, I got a D on my exam by the way, not an E, woop woop), don’t care about what time my brother goes to sleep, don’t care about my uncle’s gambling problem, don’t care about my mom’s shopping. Just. Don’t. Care.

Let’s say I get an F on a test. Most of my friends would be super pissed, and yeah, I get pissed too, but I know it’s just a freaking test. It’s not the end of the world. Move on. Care about different things, more important things. Getting mad at failing a test just causes negativity that affects your happiness in a way that causes downward spirals.Like, I have three failed courses right now and I don’t even go to retake the test, haha. My friends are like “how the fuck are you ignoring your tests? Aren’t you mad that you failed those three courses?” and I’m like, no, I’m not mad. Why should I be mad? It’s up to me in the end, I didn’t study for those tests (actually, I haven’t even gone once to my accounting test, and I’ve had five chances, so yeah, haha) and I know I’ll pass when I have the urge to study for them.

The problem with not caring is that it’s really a mentality thing. You have to have a strong mind, because there are things so negative that they can break you, like a death in the family for example, and in that case, it’s better to embrace the negativity, digest it and then turn it into motivation. It takes a while to get used to this frame of mind and it doesn’t suit everyone. So beware!

When people say “life is what you make it”, they really mean, “if you want to be happy, do things that make you happy, if you want to be unhappy, do things you hate”. And that’s what I do, I don’t care about negative stuff or people. I ignore that, or them. I care about things that make me happy, people that make me happy. If you want to be a happier person, I suggest you do too.

Peace & Love

This entry was posted in Mentality, Other. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

